Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



(渣打集團有限公司)

(the "Company")

(Registered in England and Wales number 966425) (Stock Code: 02888)

## **Grant of Share Options**

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 17.06A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The Company announces that on 11 October 2010 options (the "Options") to acquire 3,303,817 Ordinary shares of USD0.50 each in the capital of the Company (the "Shares") were granted to employees of the Company who submitted a valid application to participate in the Company's International Sharesave Scheme (the "Scheme") at the exercise price of £15.19. None of the grantees is a director, chief executive or substantial shareholder of the Company or an associate of any of them. The exercise price of the Options was fixed on 13 September 2010. Eligible employees were invited to apply to participate in the Scheme between 13 and 28 September 2010.

The closing market price of the Shares on the London Stock Exchange on the date of grant (11 October 2010) was £18.70. The Options may be exercised within a period of six months after the third or fifth anniversary of the date that savings contracts commence under the Scheme.

By Order of the Board
Annemarie Durbin
Group Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 13 October 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises:

Chairman:

Mr John Wilfred Peace

## Executive Directors:

Mr Peter Alexander Sands; Mr Stefano Paolo Bertamini; Mr Jaspal Singh Bindra; Mr Richard Henry Meddings and Mr Alun Michael Guest Rees;

## Independent Non-Executive Directors:

Mr Richard Delbridge; Mr James Frederick Trevor Dundas; Ms Valerie Frances Gooding, CBE; Dr Han Seung-soo, KBE; Mr Simon Jonathan Lowth; Mr Rudolph Harold Peter Markham (Senior Independent Director); Ms Ruth Markland; Mr John Gregor Hugh Paynter; Mr Paul David Skinner and Mr Oliver Henry James Stocken.