Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



## STANDARD CHARTERED PLC

### 渣打集團有限公司

(Registered in England and Wales number 966425) (Stock code: 02888)

# Waiver of Listing Rules to enable Standard Chartered PLC to hold Treasury Shares

The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange") had granted a conditional waiver to Standard Chartered PLC (the "Company") on 16 April 2008 (the "Waiver") on the basis of certain agreed modifications to the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange (the "Listing Rules") applicable to the Company to enable it to hold treasury shares (the "Modifications").

In accordance with the terms of the Waiver, the Company is required to make further consequential amendments to the Modifications in respect of any subsequent changes to the Listing Rules or other regulation. Certain amendments to the Modifications have been made to reflect the changes to the Listing Rules that became effective on 3 June 2010 and 7 March 2011, details of the amended Modifications are posted on the Company's website at <a href="www.standardchartered.com">www.standardchartered.com</a> and the Stock Exchange's website at <a href="www.hkexnews.hk">www.hkexnews.hk</a> and copies of the amended Modifications are available on request from the Group Company Secretary, 1 Aldermanbury Square London EC2V 7SB and the Assistant Company Secretary, 4-4A Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong.

By order of the Board Annemarie Durbin Group Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 28 July 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Standard Chartered PLC comprises:

Chairman:

Sir John Wilfred Peace

### Executive Directors:

Mr Peter Alexander Sands; Mr Stefano Paolo Bertamini; Mr Jaspal Singh Bindra; Mr Richard Henry Meddings and Mr Alun Michael Guest Rees;

#### Independent Non-Executive Directors:

Mr Richard Delbridge; Mr James Frederick Trevor Dundas; Ms Valerie Frances Gooding, CBE; Dr Han Seung-soo, KBE; Mr Simon Jonathan Lowth; Mr Rudolph Harold Peter Markham (Senior Independent Director); Ms Ruth Markland; Mr John Gregor Hugh Paynter; Mr Paul David Skinner and Mr Oliver Henry James Stocken.